top of page

Trending...



These days, it seems like people tend to trend pretty easily. Thanks to our advancement in social media, I guess it's not that hard for people to go viral.


With apps such as Twitter and TikTok, it doesn't take long for information to spread. I was just thinking about how many challenges have come up during these few months of lockdown. The Don't Rush Challenge, Savage challenge, The Tootsie slide. Personally, I've never posted anything on TikTok but I'd be lying (and so would you) if I said I didn't try to attempt at least one of these in the comforts of my bedroom. I'll also admit that, the only reason I got TikTok was because of lockdown. It's crazy to see all the random and weird things that are trending now.



I've never created a challenge for TikTok, Instagram or any other social media but I know that a lot of people have and they end up getting famous for it. Can you imagine, nobody really knowing you except family, friends and a few random people? Then within a matter of a few hours, people across the world are copying your moves or videos- people you don't know and have never even met before. All of a sudden you've set a trend and so many others are following.


As I said initially, it's so easy to trend these days. A question I was thinking about was: if I were to trend, what would it be for? Would it be a good thing, or a bad thing? Would the reason bring joy or sorrow?


Unfortunately, going viral isn't always a good thing, especially if you did something bad.


A lot of people want to be famous or known these days, and unfortunately, they end up doing so for all the wrong reasons. Then there are those who really don't mind staying out of the limelight.


I for one like to think of myself as the quiet, introverted type (if you know me, I honestly don't doubt that you'll agree). Growing up, I wasn't the biggest fan of public speaking or doing things in front of a crowd. Even though I can say that I'm more confident now, I still tend to get quite nervous. Deep, deep, deep down, I daydream of what it would be like to be in the spotlight but in reality, I'd rather sit and watch others do their thing. Which is why if I were ever to be a trending topic, I honestly might have a lot of anxiety over it, especially if it wasn't for something good.


I feel like real trendsetters are innovative and creative. They come up with ideas for other people to follow. I would say they have aspects of leadership qualities, because they're able to have a vision and implement it.




Growing up, I was always told I had leadership skills and even now, I'm getting the chance to fulfil leadership roles. But a major part of me feels like more of a follower rather than a leader. I see other people doing way more than me with their roles and honestly, it can feel quite intimidating. Sometimes too, you just want to sit back and let someone else take the wheel instead of putting in the effort to lead the way.


The truth is, whether we tend to sit back and watch others be great or we take the chance to share our greatness with those around us, each of us are trendsetters in our own ways. As long as we are around people, our characters, our words and our actions have the power to have an impact on others.


You don't need to be in a leadership position to take the lead or to set an example for others to follow. You can do so by just being you. Who you are can make more of a difference than you realise. Which is why you need to be careful of how you carry yourself, what you say and how you treat others.


People are watching whether it's through social media or just the society you're in. Make sure that if you were to trend, it would be for something worthwhile.


Make a difference and be the difference.


Hope you enjoyed today's read. If you were to trend, what do you think it would be for? Comment your replies down below or send them to me via email or on social media. It'll be interesting to hear your answers. Have a great day lovelies!


Stay blessed and stay a blessing.

19 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Check Out...

Feel free to get in touch through email or social media. I'd love to hear from you!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page