top of page

Looking Back To Your Start



Forward ever, backward never.


I'm sure we've all heard of this saying and it's one that a lot of us stick by. Why worry about the past when it's already gone and when there's nothing you can do to change it or get it back?


In the Bible, Paul even admonishes us to forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, which in simple terms means to put old things behind you and strive towards the future ahead of you (Philippians 3:13).


But one good thing about our past is that, though we can't change it, we can learn from it. I for one have so many things I wish I had done differently while growing up. There are so many things I wish I could have avoided in order not to have spent days or years struggling. So many decisions I wish I could have made and things I wished I could have done differently. But I can't go back no matter how much I want to.


All I can do now is take my past and use it to build myself into a stronger, wiser, godlier person. I'm slowly learning how to overcome certain things and taking the necessary steps in order to be a better version of myself, the version that God always intended for me to be.


I know some of us let our past define us. I'm certainly guilty of that. We let certain decisions we made or certain characteristics we portrayed tell us who we are. But the truth is, we're so much more than the bad choices we make or what other people see us as. How we were at one point in time, doesn't mean that's how we're destined to be.


Our past doesn't define us. Even our own perceptions of ourselves can't do that either.


Only God really can.


And the good thing about letting God define us is that, God's definition is never false or bad. God tells us that we're loved, we're works of art, we're created in His image and likeness and so much more. Even though in human terms we're not perfect, by His Spirit, we're made whole and complete.


Our past may tend to creep up from time to time, but we should never let it get the best of us. Instead of letting it scare us, we need to let it push us to a better future. And even in our present times, we need to grab every good opportunity that comes our way, whether to help ourselves or others around us.


I heard something this week that taught me not to waste a good opportunity when it comes because once it's gone, it's gone. And you never know what kind of blessings that opportunity could have brought you. It might have been simply helping out someone in need or taking a bold step into a new direction.


In order for us not to regret things later on, why not take the chance now?


Hope this little piece encouraged you. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments section below or email/message me on social media. Have an amazing day lovelies.


Stay blessed and stay a blessing

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Check Out...

Feel free to get in touch through email or social media. I'd love to hear from you!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page