top of page

Let Go and Let Love



Today's the last post for our Month of Love theme and I wanted to end with a little something on Storge and Philia love.


As I mentioned before, family and friends are two of the crucial relationships that we have as humans. They can have a great influence on how we live our lives and how we relate to other people as well.


I know that there are various circumstances that people find themselves in when it comes to these types of relationships. Some have great family and friends; some have problems with their family and prefer their friends; others don't have the opportunity to have either of the two, and the list of scenarios goes on and on.


I'm blessed to be surrounded by a lot of people who love me; friends and family. So I probably wouldn't know what it's like not to have either of the two or struggle with major problems relating to them. Of course, problems and challenges occur when it comes to both my friends and family, but I know that there are others out there who have it worse off than me.


From what I've seen and experienced, I know a lot now about appreciating the people around you because it can be easy to lose sight of their importance until they're not around anymore. I never want to get to the point where I hold a grudge so strongly against someone that I end up losing them in the process without making amends to our relationship.


Some of us are easily angered and have the worst of tempers. We hold on to words and pain that others caused us and in the process, we are the ones who end up hurting badly. I don't know what it's like to live with the burden of leaving someone forever on bad terms and I pray that I, or any of you, never experience that.


Forgiveness can be difficult, especially when you're wronged by those closest to you. Psalm 55:12-14 says:

If an enemy were insulting me, I could endure it; if a foe were rising against me, I could hide. But it is you, a man like myself, my companion, my close friend, with whom I once enjoyed sweet fellowship at the house of God, as we walked about among the worshipers.


Sometimes it's the people we least expect who hurt us the most. And it hurts more than if someone who dislikes you wronged you. With a friend or family, there's this bond of trust, love and loyalty that you believe is stronger than anything. But the truth is, as human as we are, we will have moments where we fail in these things. Whether they mean to or not, people will break your trust. It's how you respond to that breach of trust that determines whether your relationship with them is broken as well or not.


I've always wondered with the question: Should we forgive and forget, or forgive but remember someone's wrongdoings in order to be wary of the next time?


Two answers for that always come in mind. The first one being that, we're supposed to show God's love to others and reflect Him. Think of all the times we wronged God and asked for forgiveness, only to turn back to the same sin a while after. God forgives us each time and remembers our sin no more when we come to Him with a sincere and repentant heart. If someone were to offend you then, though it may not be easy and it may even take some time, you're supposed to forgive and not keep record of their wrongs.


But the other thing that comes to mind is the fact that, there are some people who hurt us continuously and although we forgive them each time, they continue to do the same damage. In these situations, forgiveness is needed but we might need to remember instead of forgetting.


Remembering not in a way to hold it against them, but remembering in a sense that you deserve to be around people who treat you better and not those who will constantly purposefully bring you pain. You may love a friend dearly but sometimes, in these cases, it's better to let go, even if it's just for a short time. In moments like these, intercessory prayer is really needed. Praying and asking God to change their hearts because at the end of the day, He's the only one that can truly do that.


Praying for others is a key part of forgiveness. Asking God to give you the strength to forgive is important but so is asking God to touch the heart of your offender, so that they'll be put on a better path.




Forgiveness forms part of loving your family and friends, for love also keeps no record of wrongs (1 Corinthians 13:5). If there's someone out there who's hurt you and you're still holding a grudge, it's time to let go and let love prevail. God is the only one who can give us enough strength to forgive so it's best to ask Him for help.


And for those on the other end of the situation, don't let your actions ruin a good relationship. Don't let your pride cause you to think you're above asking for forgiveness. For pride comes before a fall (Proverbs 16:18).


Your family and friends are some of the most important people in your life, so cherish and love them while they're still with you. Don't let unforgiveness break good relations.


What are your thoughts on the matter relating to forgiving and forgetting? Let me know your views in the comments below or you can email/message me on social media. Have a great weekend loves.


Stay blessed and stay a blessing.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Check Out...

Feel free to get in touch through email or social media. I'd love to hear from you!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page