top of page

How To Make The Most of Your Degree Programme



So as I said in last week's post, I've just started my second semester of second year. Two weeks in and I'm actually loving the changes I've decided to make and how I'm prioritising my time.


Another one of my goals this year is to put more effort into my studies and actually take more interest in my degree programme (which is Civil Engineering for those who are unaware).


I realised that since first year, I was really questioning if Engineering was actually for me. Weird because I chose this career path myself; I wasn't forced to do it. I found myself dropping academically and I was using a lot of excuses to cover up my performance.


The truth is, university really is a whole different level of reality. It opens your eyes to how life in the real world is actually like. And even though at this stage, we're still a bit shielded from certain things, we're exposed to many truths and future challenges. It's this time that we use to prepare ourselves for the rest of our lives. But there's only so much preparation that you can actually do.


Regarding my studies, I decided this semester to take a step back and look at all the things I'd done wrong last year and how I could fix some of my problems. I've started some new habits that I'd love to share with you guys. So for anyone out there who is having trouble performing better in their programmes, I hope these tips can encourage you to look at your degrees from a different perspective.


1. Do some personal research


I found that if I actually researched and learnt about real life knowledge on my degree programme, it would spike my interest in it. For example, as a civil engineer student, I've decided that I'd make time each week to study about different structures around the world.


It's good to know and understand what you're taught in class. But when you combine that with general knowledge, it helps you have a broader idea of what your degree is all about. It''l surprise you how interesting your degree actually is when you put in the effort to actually get interested in it.


2. Visit places


Don't just research on your degree, GO SIGHTSEEING!

As an architecture student, you can visit famous buildings and landmarks around your city. As an art student, visit some galleries. A geography student, why not go hiking with some friends? This type of learning (Kinaesthetic) goes a long way in helping you remember things you learn in the lecture room as well as being great to have for general knowledge.


You'll have fun whilst learning too!


3. Watch videos/series/movies and read books relating to your degree


I'm sure there are many things you can find on YouTube relating to your degree programme. This is a form of visual learning. Some people need to see images in order to retain information.


Instead of watching another random series, why not watch something that relates to your degree programme? It's even possible to find something that is enjoyable and educative at the same time. You won't even realise you're learning whilst you binge-watch a show. Take the TV series Suits for instance. Even though I've actually only ever watched one episode, I've been told that it gives an insight into the life of lawyers in a law form.


For those who prefer reading over movies, you can search for books that will have you engaging better with your degree programme. They don't have to be some of the dreary old textbooks that you find in your school library; they can be non-fictions by authors who are actually experienced in your field of study. I'm sure you can even find fictions that can still give you insight into what you're learning in class.


4. Put in more effort in your studies


Although you may spend your free time gaining interest in your degree programme, you also have to do the work in order to actually pass your degree. I for one took time to reflect on the things I could do in my studies that would help me do better.

Here are a few suggestions.


- Always go over the material you learnt during the lectures at the end of the day. Go through the learning outcomes for the lectures and see whether you have achieved them all.


- Solve your tutorial questions before going to the tutorials and ask for help in the questions you don't understand. I actually felt so happy last week because it was the first time I had actually ever finished a tutorial. Sad, I know. But I'm telling you, it actually helps. It gives you a better understanding of what you're actually learning in class.


- Get the recommended textbooks and ACTUALLY READ THEM. Don't just leave them on your bookcase. I suggest borrowing from the school library as it's cheaper and can be renewed. They give you more knowledge besides what you're taught by the lecturer.


- Make your personal notes and plan your study schedule accordingly. Don't just do the work and assignments you're given and expect to learn from them. Do your own personal studies to see whether you actually understand what you're being fed in class.


5. Pray for the strength and guidance


In all things, we must commit our ways to God. We can do all these things but we need God's strength to be consistent. Never neglect God whilst you chase that degree.


Chase God and the success for your degree will follow.

I hope these tips help and that once you try them out, you'll see some difference in your studies. Your degree programme is actually very interesting; you just have to actually put in the effort to realise it.


What degree are you studying and what are some of your personal tips? Feel free to share them in the comments section below, or hit me up through email or social media. I'd love to hear from you. Don't forget to share this as well.


Stay blessed and stay a blessing.

40 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Check Out...

Feel free to get in touch through email or social media. I'd love to hear from you!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page