top of page

A Dream is a wish your heart makes

‘When you wish upon a star your dreams come true’- Pinocchio

‘A dream is a wish your heart makes’- Cinderella

Both these Disney songs are probably quite memorable. A lot of Disney fairytales are centred around dreams. Cinderella dreamed of going to the ball. Pinocchio dreamed of becoming a real boy. Sleeping Beauty dreamed of one day meeting her handsome prince and Rapunzel dreamed of escaping her prison of a tower.




We all have dreams; something that we desire to happen or that we want to accomplish. Some of these dreams tend to change as we grow.


When I was little, I remember wanting to be a fashion designer. I saw all these pretty clothes and said to myself, "I'm going to be the one designing these one day!".


However, that was short lived, as my new dream became being a famous writer and making bestseller books. Although that one still sits in the corner of my mind, now that I’m in my teenage years, I have a new view on life and new interests.



But at this stage in life, it’s not convenient for me to dream.


Now I'm not saying that as a teenager, you shouldn't dream. What I mean to say is that, at this point in life, you should start working on your dreams. DO SOMETHING ABOUT THEM!


You're never to young (or old) to have a dream. But the thing with dreams is that, in order for them to become a reality, you have to put in the effort. Otherwise they just stay fantasies. This blog for instance, had been a dream of mine for a while. But in order for it to become real, I had to work towards it. I had to plan, create the website and even improve my writing skills, all for the accomplishment of this dream that I had.


Dreams will only stay imaginary until we take the necessary steps to bring them to life.

Do you have a dream that you're dying to see come alive? Maybe you have multiple dreams but just don't know what to do with them.


Here are a few tips.


  • Grab a pen and paper, sit down (preferably in a quiet place) and just think to yourself, what is my dream? What do I want to accomplish? What can I do that will have a meaningful impact in my life and that of others around me? Whilst you ponder on that, write down all your thoughts. The first step to making a dream a reality is by writing it down. It makes it more physical.


  • Once you've written it down, think about how you can go about making your dream a reality. Will you have to improve upon some skills first? Do you have a reliable person you can trust to help you? How much effort will you need to put in to accomplish your dream?



  • The next step is to go before God and talk to Him about your plans. His Word says that we may make our plans but He (God) directs our actions. Make sure your dream is in line with God's will for your life before you start trying to achieve it.











  • Remember that it's not everyone you can trust with your ideas and aspirations. It's better to have one or two trustworthy people by your side because whether you like it or not, there are people who will discourage or even sabotage your dream. So don't go around sharing your plans to everyone you see. Learn to be discrete.


  • Finally, JUST START! Set achievable goals and begin working towards your set targets. If you need it, ask for help from people who will support and encourage you in your dream.


It's alright if your dream isn't huge. It may be something small or something that others may see as insignificant. But don't let negative opinions bring you down. If it's God's will, then go ahead and do what you want to do. No dream is too silly. Hey, even if you want to set the world record for eating the most pizzas in one sitting, you go ahead and set it!


It's also fine not to have a dream right here and now. Not everyone has great future plans in their adolescent years. Sometimes, it takes a couple of years before you figure it out. If you fall in to that category, don't be afraid or ashamed. There's a time for everything and your time will come.

What are some of your dreams and goals in life? Or what are some of your aspirations that you were able to accomplish? Kindly share them in the comments.

Stay blessed and stay a blessing.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Check Out...

Feel free to get in touch through email or social media. I'd love to hear from you!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page