top of page

2nd Year Experience (Part 2)



Happy new week guys! Hope you're all well and blessed because I certainly am.


As promised, today I'll be giving you a part 2 of my 2nd year at university. I really hope that sharing my experiences and the lessons I learnt might help all of you who are going into or have already begun a new school year.


Enjoy reading!


Social


I'll admit; I think I was more socially active than in my first year. I genuinely enjoyed the social aspect of 2nd year more compared to the academic aspect. I got involved in a lot more activities too. For one, I performed during the African Caribbean Society's Black Excellence night during Black History month. Shout-out to my flatmate for being such an amazing President last year. She got me way more involved in ACS, that's for sure.


I also made a ton of new friends, including those in my degree programme. I think there are genuinely people you won't know in your degree programme until you go deeper into it.


And of course, I'm so grateful for my Civil Eng girls who kept me sane and helped me get through this crazy year. You girls know who you are.


One major social highlight of 2nd year was starting PENSA in second semester. For those who don't know, PENSA (PENtecost Students and Associates) is an international Christian campus society, and thankfully, my other executives and I had the opportunity to start it on our uni campus.


It was such a great experience and I honestly can't wait for what's in store this upcoming year. I made new friends and got the chance to be in a leadership role, all while letting myself be used by God to reach out to others.



Personal


I had so many goals at the start of the school year and working to keep in line with them was a real task. I achieved some and failed others but I'm glad I learned more about myself through my experiences.


I got to hone my guitar skills, by the grace of God. I actually started posting my covers and even had a few duets with some amazing musicians. I still have a long way to go in improving myself but I'm learning also that sometimes my imperfections make things so much better and purer.


My mental health was tested a lot but as I said in the last post, God had me grounded. It's easy to get caught up in the stress of everything but it's always good to remember that God is holding your hand through it all and you're not alone. Also remember to always speak to people you love and trust if you're facing trouble. I'm grateful that I had family and friends who I could talk to when I felt low.


Lastly, I actually got to start this blog!


It was always just an idea at the beginning of the year but I'm so glad I was pushed to start. I've learnt a lot about myself through writing and sharing experiences, and though there were times I did want to give up, God always gave me the strength to continue. And so did all your comments and encouraging words. It's always been a desire to have my writing make a difference and I know God is using me to do just that.


With all this, my time management skills were obviously tested as well. There were moments when I wanted to just take a break even though I had assignments, but I guess what I learnt was that I need to know when to focus on my studies and when I need to take a step back and relax. Juggling academics, a leadership position and my own personal life was a task, one that I'll have to go through again, but I think I'm educated enough now on how to go about it this time around.


I am glad I put myself out there last year because I met people I never would have thought I'd meet and did things I never thought I'd do. Don't be afraid to do the same but also know that there's only so much you can take on at once. Don't overwhelm yourself.


Enjoy this new year as much as possible and work harder than before.


I hope my few experiences helped. If you guys have any questions about starting your new school year or starting uni in general, feel free to let me know and I'll be happy to help. I'd also love to hear about the things you got up to last year. You can email/message me on social media. Subscribe to the blog if you haven't already for regular updates. Have a great day guys!


Stay blessed and stay a blessing.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Check Out...

Feel free to get in touch through email or social media. I'd love to hear from you!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page