top of page

5 Things My 3rd Year in Uni Taught Me



Hello lovelies!

Hope everyone is well and great! I've missed you all during these past weeks and I've missed blogging so much. But now that school is over for the semester, I finally have time to post. It's been a hectic few weeks but by God's grace I've made it through.


In today's 'comeback' post, I thought I'd share a few things that I learnt and went through during my third year of university. I know that like me, a lot of university students had online classes instead of in-person teaching. For first semester, we actually had hybrid sessions where a number of us got to attend classes on campus. But all in all, it's been a pretty digital year in terms of studies.


On one hand, online classes meant I didn't need to leave my home and I could wake up five minutes before a class and still attend (don't judge me, I believe most of us did this). But it also meant I haven't physically seen or hung out with a lot of my friends in a year, which honestly sucks.


But through all the negatives and positives of this school year, there are a few things I would love to share with you all.


1. Discipline is Key where Freedom is Abundant


With freedom comes responsibility, and with the amount of free time that came with online classes, I had to learn how to manage my time wisely and make the most of it. Did I succeed in that? Not gonna lie, I probably only did 40-50% of the time.


I found myself easily distracted and trying to find ways to avoid the stress of studies, which unfortunately didn't help in keeping me 100% focused.


But what I learnt was, I needed to manage my time wisely in order to get the best out of my day. And no matter how tiring or boring some of my obligations were, I needed to be disciplined enough to carry through with them.



2. Don't Use the Things you Enjoy to Escape your Responsibilities


As I said, a lot of the time, I found myself trying to escape from the stress of school and other things going on in my life. Sometimes by doing things that seemed harmless and other times by doing things that I knew wouldn't benefit me in any way. But whether or not my activities were beneficial to me or not, it didn't change the fact that I was avoiding the necessary things I needed to do. My priorities and responsibilities.


I had to learn that to sort out my priorities and do what needed to be done at the right time. It's ok to improve your talents and try new things, but makes sure it doesn't interfere with your responsibilities.



3. Your Future isn't set in Stone at this Stage of your Life


Being in my penultimate year, there were many times when I worried that I might not be cut out for what I'm studying. That made me question my future and what exactly was in store for me once I graduate. It seemed as if people around me had some kind of plan for their coming future while I was completely unsure.


But thankfully, after talking it out with a friend, I realised that I didn't need to have everything figured out right now. And even though it doesn't seem like it, I have time to find out what interests me and what I can pursue, in accordance with God's Will.



4. Cherish those around you


Everything this past year has been so digital that I missed the physical things we used to be able to do freely. Meeting up with friends without worrying about COVID, singing in church without masks, hugging. But somehow, despite not being able to physically meet people, something I realised was that there were still people in my life that I still had a way of communicating with.


Although it's something I haven't done as well as I should, I think reaching out to old friends and individuals we wouldn't normally hit up is something that we should be in the habit of doing. We don't know what other people may be going through in these times, and we never know who might need this little act of care.



5. The things you Take In Influence your Thoughts, Actions and Character


The things we watch, read, see and hear- even who and what we surround ourselves with- can greatly influence what we think about ourselves. Our actions stem from our thoughts and our thoughts depend on the things we let our mind and body take in.


I found myself feeling low a lot of the time, but I realised it was because of the kind of things I was surrounding myself with. Once I took a step back and checked myself, I was able to improve my mindset and make my days fulfilling and productive.


Check what you input into yourself, so that you can only output the best.


So these are the five main things I learnt from my 3rd Year of university. I honestly thank God for how far He's brought me and I hope that, whatever He has in store for my future, He'll give me the strength to live a holy, fulfilling life that He'll be proud of. And not just me, but you guys too.


How has the past year been for you? Any lessons you learnt? Any stories to share? Feel free to share in the comments below or you can email/message me on social media (IG or Twitter).

Thanks so much for reading lovelies, and stay tuned for more posts. Have an amazing day.


Stay blessed and stay a blessing.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Check Out...

Feel free to get in touch through email or social media. I'd love to hear from you!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page